My mom adventures in Fort Collins


Patience
February 24, 2012, 6:23 am
Filed under: Family | Tags: , , , , ,

My wee little blog is a bit of a surprise to me. I started this all almost two years ago. I made a few posts over the course of the next eighteen months of the blog, but it was only last month that I really got up the gumption to do this again. Write again.

Then, I really liked it. And now I really, really like it. It’s become a good outlet for me. I think of little ideas all day long, and it’s all just for me. It’s been such a great joy for me to jot down the words that I want to write, that I would want to read. To document my domestic life, my family life, my not-really-related-to-anything thoughts.

And the weirdest thing happened.I realized that I’m not the only one who reads this.

I was really shocked when I found the first “like” or “comment.” My thought bubble would have gone something like, “Wow, how did this person even find my blog?” Then, today, I got a comment on a book review that I did. From the author of the book. And yesterday a sweet fellow blogger nominated me for a blogger award. Which is just so stinkin’ fun. It just makes me want to write and write and write.

It’s just that I have one little problem. My lenten resolution.

In order to honor my commitment and not cheat, I’ve only been checking email. Pinterest and wordpress only for an hour a day. It goes by surprisingly fast. Funny how I can think of 10 ways to shorten the length of my shower, or to speed up laundry, but I can’t seem to expedite the process of slowly cruising the internet.

It’s an odd thing: my ideas—whether ideas about what to write here, what to cook for dinner, what craft project to start next, you name it–seem to be increasing at the same time my time on the internet is decreasing.

Plus, there’s them.

 

See, we're such good helpers! And we've been keeping mom so busy this week because Daddy gave us a punishment of "no TV" for a week. So that really cuts down on her computer time.

I guess what I’m saying is that I’m currently learning a lesson in patience. Why am I always learning a lesson in patience?

P.S. I am writing this all on a word processing document, and I will cut and paste it over to wordpress. I don’t think this is really cheating.

P.P.S. I speed up my shower by brushing my teeth while showering, and infrequently washing my hair. I speed up laundry when I drop the towels over the stairway instead of carrying things down the stairs. But only when the kids aren’t looking. Don’t want them getting any ideas.

P.P.S.S. Feel free to comment. I get to read it in my email, and since I’m “allowed” to check email, that’s kinda not cheating.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You can also get posts in email if you subscribe! I’ll help you cheat! ^^

Comment by Kaitlin

I’m giving you a try, m’lady!

Comment by jaymers

This is a great lenten resolution that I would absolutely fail Jesus with. I love your blog, and I’m glad that you have found more readers. You are quite hilarious!

Comment by RFL

Well, you, my dear can count yourself as the first blog I ever subscribed to. Find your thoughts and views quite entertaining as well! Thank you!

Comment by jaymers




Your thoughts are always welcome

