My mom adventures in Fort Collins


Kitchen success: Chocolate of the Gods Mousse
February 25, 2012, 12:55 am
Filed under: Food | Tags: , , ,

Cory got me a food processor for Christmas. We are the type of people who give gifts like this: “Oh, did you ever buy yourself that [insert product here]?” “No.” “Good, I was thinking about getting you that for Christmas.”

While not a super romantic gift, it is actually a very decadent gift. I had been eyeing this item for a while. It now sits in my collection—along with my high-efficiency washer and dryer, my Kitchen Aid mixer and an accordion folder of medical bills—of “Things that make me feel like a grown up.” I’m finally doing some fun stuff with it. I’ve made peanut butter, and I’ve made this delicious hummus-esque recipe. But, this dark-chocolate mousse might be the biggest adventure me and the Cuisinart have taken thus far.

Straight from a book I got from the library that I’m actually hoping to read in its entirety, here is the recipe from Renee Loux (from her book The Balanced Plate).

Here's the cute little martini glass and wine glass that I served the mousse in. My kids didn't eat that much of it. Like I said, it was rich. But, this recipe also makes a surprising amount.

Chocolate of the Gods Mousse with Raspberries and Mint
Makes 8 Servings

Ingredients:
2 cups Hass avocados (about 2)
1/2 cup + 2 Tablespoons maple syrup
2-4 Tablespoons organic sugar (optional, for the sweeter tooth)
2 Tablespoons Omega Nutrition coconut butter (optional)
1-2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 teaspoons Balsamic vinegar
1/2 teaspoons soy sauce
1 cup pure cocoa powder
1 pint raspberries

Directions:
In a food processor, blend the avocados, maple syrup, sugar (if desired), coconut butter (if desired), vanilla, balsamic, and soy sauce until smooth and creamy.
Add the cocoa powder and blend until smooth. Sifting the cocoa powder before adding it is a good idea to prevent lumps. A simple metal strainer works well.
Distribute half of the raspberries evenly among 4 to 8 dishes. Follow with a dollop of mousse, a sprinkle of mint, the remaining raspberries, and more mint.
Leftover mousse can be stored in a tightly sealed container for up to a week in the fridge or frozen for up to a month.

Nutrition: 170 calories, 7g total fat, 2 g saturated fat, 3 g protein, 29 g carbohydrates,7 g dietary fiber, 25 mg sodium

A few thoughts:
I didn’t have raspberries and I didn’t bother with the mint. I had some strawberries on hand, so I made a simple strawberry sauce to top the mousse. I did use the coconut butter (though not the particular brand she mentions), but only because I happened to have it. I did use the sugar, but I was a bit confused about the amount of avocado that I had, so I only used 1/2 cup total of maple syrup. And, totally don’t bother sifting the cocoa powder unless you live for tedious kitchen work. It’s going in a FOOD PROCESSOR for crying out loud.

This is a rich mousse, much more semi-sweet or dark-chocolate type of flavor, not the sweeter milk chocolate version. I liked it. Definitely nice to have a bit of fruit to go with it, as it can be a bit much, and the tart berries cut that a bit. I personally wouldn’t depend on this “saving.” I think avocados can get yucky in the fridge. I tossed whatever was leftover.

Verdict: It’s a keeper

Tell me what else I need to make in my Cuisinart!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Your thoughts are always welcome

