My mom adventures in Fort Collins


Kitchen success: Oriental Pork Soup
February 29, 2012, 7:12 am
Filed under: Food | Tags: , , , , ,

I’m a fan of the slow cooker. I don’t know a whole lot of people who aren’t fond of meals that practically cook for you, do you?

But, in general, I’m not one to repeat a recipe that I didn’t thoroughly enjoy the first time around. Boy, am I glad that I made an exception in this case.

Boy, Betty, am I glad that I rediscovered you. What other recipes do you have in there that I need to try?

The other night I tried a recipe out of my ol’ Betty Crocker’s Slow Cooker Cookbook. When I first got it a while back, I tried a few recipes and this was one of them. I definitely remember not having been “blown away.” Well, this time, I followed the recipe almost exactly (this is rare for me). Much, much better.

Here it is, as it appeared in the book:

Oriental Pork Soup

6 servings

1 lb. Chow mein meat (There is a note that basically says use “Ground Pork” if you can’t find this)

2 medium carrots, sliced into julienned strips

4 medium green onions, cut into 1-inch pieces

1 clove garlic, finely chopped

¼ cup soy sauce

½ teaspoon finely chopped gingerroot

1/8 teaspoon pepper

1 can (49 ½ oz.) ready-to-serve chicken broth

1 cup sliced mushrooms

1 cup bean sprouts

  1. Cook meat in skillet over medium heat 8 to 10 minutes, sirring occasionally, until brown; drain.
  2. Mix meat and remaining ingredients except mushrooms and bean sprouts in slow cooker.
  3. Cover and cook on low setting 7 to 9 hours, or high for 3 to 4 hours.
  4. Stir in mushrooms and bean sprouts.
  5. Cover and cook on low heat setting about 1 hour, or until mushrooms are tender.

1 serving: Calories 220, Fat 13g (Saturated 4g); Cholesterol 50 mg; Sodium 1720 mg; Carbohydrate 6g (Dietary Fiber 1g); Protein 21g

Mmm, just looking at this soup in the crock pot kinda makes me salivate.

A couple of notes:

Apparently Betty Crocker shops where there is something called “chow mein meat,” but I don’t. So follow the book’s note and substitute just regular old ground pork. Don’t use ground turkey, which is what I did the first time I made this soup. Ground pork gives it so much more flavor.

I used nearly 1 Tablespoon of fresh ginger, and 2 cloves of garlic.  Personally, I loved it. Don’t use ground ginger, another mistake I made the first time around. Fresh ginger all the way. Oh, and I used fresh bean sprouts, not the kind in the can.

I used the low-sodium chicken broth. I used three 14.5 ounce cans, and then added a bit of water to make up the difference. To me, the sodium on this dish is high. Even with my substitution of the low-sodium chicken broth it tasted plenty salty (tasty salty, not overly salty, but still). If you wanted to cut it further, you could use even less broth and swap it for water to make up the difference. Or use light/low-sodium soy sauce. Or just cut back on the soy sauce.

Also, if you want to go gluten-free on this dish, I think all you’d have to do is use Tamari or gluten-free soy sauce (which happens to be what I personally prefer, it’s the yummy-est). The note in the book says to serve each bowl with a scoop of rice, and that’s what we did. It was deee-lish, somewhat wonton soup-ish without the wontons. Even my kids ate it. (Well, one of them moreso than the other, but that’s actually a pretty decent success in my house.)

Verdict: We’ve got a winner

Tell me, what else should I be making in my crock pot?

Oh, and P.S. Is it un-PC of me (or Betty, for that matter) to be calling this “Oriental” Pork Soup? I was always taught that objects can be referred to as “Oriental,” but it just feels kinda wrong. I’ll blame it on Betty. Old bitty.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Poor Betty didn’t know anything about P.C. I make as much as possible in my slow cooker. I have a couple of “Fix it and Forget it” books and they are all very good! Happy cooking!

Comment by brainvomit40

(I’m like a week late in responding to this…) Oh, poor Betty indeed. I like the sound of those fix it and forget it books. I think I’ll have to find one!

Comment by jaymers




Your thoughts are always welcome

