My mom adventures in Fort Collins


Does this ever happen to you?
March 6, 2012, 2:40 pm
Filed under: Parenting | Tags: , ,

You have the day. Whining, crying, everything must become dramatic. Nothing is easily remedied and most things render them inconsolable. A big mess in the bathroom after someone tried to wet the mop in the sink. Trying on five outfits (but not from the dress up bin, mind you. From the closet. And breaking a hanger in the process.). Dumping shoefulls of sand from the sandbox onto the kitchen floor.

And then, in a moment, they’re playing so well together. Coloring. Then, Scout suggests that we have a cafe right here on our premises. And when I walk up to her with a notepad and a pen to take her order, she is deighted.

“What can I get you, darling?”

“I don’t know.”

“Well, your choices are roast beef, fish heads and rice, or some chicken noodle soup.”

“Okay, I’ll take the chicken noodle soup.”

“Sounds good. Your order will be right up. My name is Jayme, I’ll be your waitress.”

Then, I brought her an “appetizer” of some sunflower seeds on a napkin and it was like the preceding 8 hours hadn’t even happened.

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You mean that’s not every day for you? lol. I love a child’s ability to go from one extreme to another without any lag time in between. I just wish I always adjusted so easily. Glad your day ended well.

Comment by the domestic fringe

In some ways, yes, it IS everyday for me. It’s just some days I can handle it all so much better, you know? Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

Comment by jaymers

Happens a lot in my house! It is almost like my children have multiple personalities! 🙂

Comment by jeandayfriday

Right. Just when I think I have a grasp on the twists and turns of their personalities and dispositions, and what triggers what–then, poof. All that knowledge is rendered useless because they throw me for a loop. Thanks for the camaraderie!

Comment by jaymers

I actually kind of miss those days 🙂 Enjoy them while they are little!

Comment by brainvomit40

Don’t get me wrong. I do enjoy them. I always feel a little guilty complaining about my kids–they’re healthy, happy little people. Nonetheless… I do have to complain every once in a while. Thanks for commenting!

Comment by jaymers

Oh, I totally undrstand what you mean! I cannot tell you how many of those days I had over the years. Just feeling nostalgic – I’m sure you understand why after reading today’s blog!

Comment by brainvomit40

I did love your post today. Isn’t it funny when people tell you, as you hold your crying, pooping infant, “Oh, they grow up so fast.” I never thought much of it until I realized a few years later… Um, they DO grow up so fast!

Comment by jaymers




Your thoughts are always welcome

