My mom adventures in Fort Collins


Kitchen success: Roasted cauliflower and white bean dip
March 8, 2012, 5:19 am
Filed under: Food | Tags: , , , , , ,

I do so very much enjoy when a I try a new recipe and it goes well.

Serve this yummy dip up with standard kid-friendly veggies for some major success

This recipe came from the current issue of Everyday Food. If you have never checked out this magazine, I’d highly encourage it. It’s a good one. Most of the ingredients are fresh and readily available. (Their website is great—although it’s been my experience that they don’t have the current issue’s recipes on the site.) I like that the recipes are usually fairly straight forward. And I really love certain sections of the magazine. For instance, they always have a section devoted to in-season produce and give you a bunch of ideas on how to use it. Love the holiday issues, too.

Okay, I’m veering off topic. Back to the recipe that I found. It’s a great dip—lemony, and light. Also, it’s vegan and gluten-free. Plus 4 grams of fiber in a 1/4 cup serving! That’s great for little kids!

The recipe as it appears in the March 2012 issue of Everyday Food:

Cauliflower-White Bean Dip

Serves 10

Active time: 10 minutes, Total time: 40 minutes

1 medium head cauliflower, trimmed and cut into 1 ½ inch pieces

5 garlic cloves, unpeeled

3 Tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, plus more for serving

coarse salt and ground pepper

1 can (15.5 oz) cannellini beans, rinsed and drained

1 teaspoon lemon zest, plus 1 Tablespoon lemon juice

  1. Preheat oven to 375. On a rimmed baking sheet toss cauliflower and garlic with 2 Tablespoons oil and season with salt and pepper. Roast until cauliflower is tender and browned, 25 to 30 minutes. When garlic is cool enough to handle, remove peel.
  2. In a food processor, combine cauliflower, garlic, beans, 1 Tablespoon oil, lemon zest and juice and ¼ cup hot water. Process until smooth. Season to taste with salt and pepper. (To store, refrigerate in an airtight container up to 3 days.) Serve drizzled with oil.

Per ¼ cup: 111 calories, 6 g fat (1 g saturated fat), 4 g protein, 12 g carbohydrate, 4 g fiber

For some heat, add siracha or other hot sauce

This can be served like hummus. I think it works well with veggies, tortilla chips and crackers. The only downside is that it doesn’t last long—only 3 days in the fridge. However, I did my duty in keeping this dip from a wasteful demise in the trash. Mmmm, yummy. Even my kids ate it (well they ate tortilla chips, mostly, but a little dip, too).

Oh, and I’m going to give you a little kitchen tip too. If you are cheap and don’t have a microplane (like me) and you hate the way the box grater eats up the lemon peel (like me), then do this:

Take a vegetable peeler and peel the lemon. With the long strips of zest, use a sharp knife to mince it. Voila! Who needs a $10 microplane? (Wait, they're only $10, maybe I should just get a microplane.)

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Such an interesting recipe. I would never think of cauliflower and beans together. Glad you enjoyed it!

Comment by the domestic fringe

Kind of an odd combo, but it works. Thanks for commenting.

Comment by jaymers

I adore my Everyday Food magazine! I highlight what I want my husband to make for me. 🙂 Actually, I saw this recipe and really want to try it. Thanks for being my test kitchen! I will be making it this weekend!

Comment by jeandayfriday

It is a fun magazine. I think I would like it even better if I could put in requests for others to cook for me. Hmm, thanks for that tip! Let me know what you think of the dip.

Comment by jaymers




Your thoughts are always welcome

