My mom adventures in Fort Collins


A few things I’m loving right now

Today was probably the most difficult parenting day I’ve ever had. I’ll be able to post on it sometime, but right now I feel like I’m still trying to figure out what happened and how we move forward. But the gist of it is that I cannot figure out how to lovingly deal with my 4-year-old’s anxiety level. Rather than picking apart the day from Hades, I think I will dwell on the things in my life that are making me happy lately. Yes, THINGS. As a mom I’m so programmed to just (supposedly) reap joy from being in the presence of these (mostly) delightful little people, that I tend to ignore simple materialistic pleasures. But, hey, sometimes those simple pleasures are what gets you through the day.

From lunch.com

Trader Joe’s Marcona Almonds:You’re going to think that I’m making this up, but Colorado has no Trader Joe’s. It’s weird. Actually, it’s annoying and silly, but I guess one is coming to Boulder soon. Nevertheless, when we made a day trip to Scottsdale and Phoenix during our recent Arizona trip, I had to stop by and wander the aisles a bit. I found these. Almonds are really lovely in general, but these are ratcheting up the fancy-ness level a bit. And I like it.

Photo submitted by Marc, on awkwardfamilyphotos.com

Awkward Family Photos:If you have never been to this site, go now. It’s nothing but guaranteed laughter. Possibly for hours. I discovered it right around Christmas, and their countdown to the best holiday card photo was pretty fantastic.

From talentigelato.com

Talenti Gelato:I stumbled on this because it was a “manager’s special” deal, and I think I’m in love. It comes in this cute tub. Though it’s true I’ve yet to meet an ice cream that I’d turn away, I certainly have my favorites. This is not only delicious, it just looks so pretty. It sits in my freezer saying, “Hey there, after you’ve finished your wine, how about we take a minute together?”

Downton Abbey poster from imdb.com

Downton Abbey: I know, I know, I’ve jumped on the bandwagon. But seriously, some things are worth jumping on the bandwagon. This period piece of a family of British aristocrats and their servants is so engrossing, it makes me want to go to England, ride horses and ring a bell to call for my lady’s maid.

The Two of Us: This song came on the radio while we were riding home from Arizona. My husband and I like to joke that we have to go for a ride in the car—all four of us—for the two of us to have any alone time. It’s weird, sharing the front half of the car is definitely a place where we can talk and catch up. When this song came on, we both looked at one another. “We’re on our way home… We’re going home.” It was auspicious.

From insidemovies.ew.com

The Hunger Games: Again, bandwagon. Plus, I’m late to it. Yet, Katniss Everdeen and I really bonded over the last week and a half. I still have to read Mockingjay, so I can’t be fully accepted into the tribe just yet. For me, this book series was the palate cleanser that I needed to get me reading again. I’d been in a slump lately, and this makes me feel rejuvenated. Yes, I can read. I can even read more than one book in a week (I don’t expect that to happen again anytime  soon).

 What are some things that you are enjoying right now?

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I need that gelato! Yummy! I have Downton Abbey on DVD – I need to watch it. 🙂

Comment by jeandayfriday

Let me know what you think!

Comment by jaymers

Talenti gelato is so good! Have you ever tried the sea salt & caramel? Its hard to find but its my fav. of all time. great post!

Comment by alotonyourplate

I have actually tried that one. It is a good one, no doubt. It might be my fave, too. I made the mistake of sharing with my kids, and really didn’t get as much of that pint as I would have liked… HA!

Comment by jaymers

LOL!! The trick is to hide the ice cream in the back of the freezer behind a food you know your family would never voluntarily go near themselves haha 😉

Comment by alotonyourplate




Your thoughts are always welcome

