My mom adventures in Fort Collins


Kitchen Success: Quiche
March 21, 2012, 11:13 pm
Filed under: Food | Tags: , ,

I’m so delighted to say that today was a much better day in mommyhoodland. Reading this post late last night was medicine for me. I don’t know if the sunshine today helped console me, but it sure didn’t hurt. We are still at an impasse regarding swimming lessons, but I have decided to drop it. Time to relax. And have a glass of vino. Anyway, thought I’d share this easy peasy recipe that you can doctor as you wish.

This dish is made more fun if you pronounce it “Quickie,” as my husband does.

This one was just gruyere cheese and broccoli

I loosely follow my ol’ gal Betty’s recipe on this, but the quiche is meant to be messed with. Toss in what you have on hand, and make things up as you go along. The quiche will not let you down. While not totally without its time-consuming effort, it is worth it. Everytime I make a quiche, it looks like such hard work but it really wasn’t. I make it for breakfast when people are coming so that they think I went all out for them. Such a fun trick to play on them.

Ingredients:

Pie crust—1 c flour, 1/3 cup plus 1 T shortening, ½ t salt, 1 T cold water (or slightly more if needed)

Filling—4 eggs, 2 cups heavy whipping cream or half-and-half (or some mixture of the two), 1 cup shredded cheese, ¼ cup onion, ½ t salt, ¼ t black pepper, a pinch of cayenne, and some other veggies or meat (like broccoli, bacon, ham, roasted red peppers, chorizo, spinach, mushrooms, etc.)

Bowl o' dough, with messy pastry blender (and you can see Betty guiding me)

Step one: Make the pie crust (or skip this step entirely and use a store-bought crust)

In a big bowl, mix the flour, shortening and salt together with a pastry blender (or you can use two butter knives and criss-cross them again and again, which I did for years until I bought a pastry blender). When your flour-shortening mixture looks like sand crumbles, add the water and mix until you form a dough ball. Wrap that in plastic wrap and stick it in the fridge while you work on the rest of the stuff.

Step two: Prepare the filling and pre-heat oven to 425

Shred cheese. (I like swiss or gruyere in a quiche because it browns up nice and integrates nicely into the creamy texture of the dish, but you can absolutely use whatever you have on hand.) Chop onion finely. (You can even shred this if you feel like it.) If using bacon or sausage in this dish, you’ll want to cook it and crumble it first. Chop veggies (if using) small. If you fear your chosen veggie may impart too much moisture (like mushrooms or green peppers), you can always sautee them first. In another bowl, lightly beat your eggs before adding the whipping cream/half-and-half and spices. Have all this stuff at the ready, because you’ll fill that pie after you roll out that pie crust.

Step three: Roll out the pie crust

Get the lump of dough out of the refrigerator and get yourself a pie plate, some more plastic wrap, a rolling pin, and a clean, spacious surface area to work on. I personally hate working with pie crust dough, so I roll it between two sheets of plastic wrap. Seems like cheating, but who cares? Not the person eating my delicious quiche. You put that rolled out pie crust into the pie plate and do some rearranging as needed. Pick up an extra flap from over here, add it to the lacking area over there, you catch my drift? No need to make it perfect, but you want the pie crust to cover the pie plate entirely.

My pie crust between two sheets of cellophane. Do you see how sad and un-circular it looks? Doesn't matter! Tastes deeeelish!

Step four: Add filling and bake

You’ll dump your cheese, onions, meats and veggies in the pie plate first, then pour the egg mixture on top of that. Bake at 425 for 15 minutes, then turn the oven down to 300 and bake another 30 minutes. Check to see that a knife poked into the center of the quiche comes out clean, and let rest for 10 minutes before slicing and serving.

Voila! Breakfast, lunch OR dinner is served.

Doesn't it look pretty?

Plus, this keeps well. Let it cool completely, keep in pie plate with plastic wrap in the fridge for two or three days. Warm individual slices in the microwave for 1 minute.

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

It looks perfect! I’ve only made quiche once. I enjoyed it and have no idea why I never made it again. Maybe I’ll have to try this. I doubt it will look as lovely as yours though.

Comment by the domestic fringe

Seriously perfect every time. This time I accidentally put too much water in the crust. (Betty has a double crust recipe, and a single crust recipe–read the wrong one! Oh, Betty, you get me everytime!) But I just stuck it in the oven for like 3 minutes before I started, and took a papertowel to blot it. All I tasted was delicious buttery crust. Mmm. Thanks for commenting.

Comment by jaymers

Looks amazing!

Comment by jeandayfriday

Bet you could get your hubby to make this for you! Thanks for commenting.

Comment by jaymers

I just showed it to him and I will be printing off the recipe! Thanks so much! 🙂

Comment by jeandayfriday

That looks great! What time is dinner?

Comment by brainvomit40

That, my dear, is the beauty of it. Dinner tonight, but breakfast tomorrow. Only thing that beats that is apple pie. Thanks for commenting.

Comment by jaymers




Your thoughts are always welcome

