My mom adventures in Fort Collins


Getting crafty: Homemade Playdough
March 28, 2012, 1:40 am
Filed under: Crafting, Family | Tags: , , , , ,

This one is especially for RFL, but I thought it would be a fun post for all. Today we made some fresh playdough to upgrade our supply.

A disheveled helper showing you her Kool Aid packet (and yes, she's wearing Christmas jammies, don't judge)

I give you the world’s easiest (and best smelling) homemade playdough.

Ingredients:

2 ½ Cups All-purpose flour

2 Packages Kool Aid

½ cup salt

3 Tablespoons vegetable oil

2 cups boiling water

Directions:

Mix in order (dry ingredients first, then add oil, then add water).

That big ball of dough should come out looking something like this (we used Grape flavored Kool Aid)

 A few thoughts: I use bleached flour for this, in the hopes that it picks up more of the pigment from the Kool Aid (not sure if it actually has any impact on the hue, though). Use the old school Kool Aid, not the sugar-free kind. Since the recipe requires the use of boiling water, I let my kids do all the mixing until that point (though other recipes I have found actually make it on the stove-top, so you pick your non-kid-friendly approach). Once you stir in the water, it will look kinda wonky. Let it cool a bit more, and then knead it to fully integrate all the ingredients. Also, you will find that since there is a fair bit of vegetable oil in it, that your playing surface may take on a greasy sheen. If that bothers you, cover your table with one of those wipe-off picnic table table-cloths. The upshot of all the oil is that this stuff stays pliable for a long time. I think the last batch I made was last summer, and kept in a cheap-o air tight container, it has kept amazingly well. The only other down side is that if you want a variety of colors, that’s going to be more difficult. You could definitely half the recipe and make two batches with two different Kool Aid packets, though.

Happy playing, folks!

Enjoying the finished product

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I really want some grape play dough now! Thank you so much for posting this; we are definitely going to try it.

Comment by RFL

Awesome, let me know how it goes!

Comment by jaymers

I am going to have to make this, too. Or I will have my husband make it. Yeah, that may be a better idea. 😉 Looks like fun!

Comment by jeandayfriday

Ha! I swear, you could make this one. No cooking involved!

Comment by jaymers

OK – if you think so then I will try it this weekend! 🙂

Comment by jeandayfriday




Your thoughts are always welcome

