My mom adventures in Fort Collins


Yeah, that. What she said.

I read this awesome essay today about Loving Your Cushy Tushy.

It is literally just what the title implies: A mom’s journey to accepting her cushy tushy because, in a roundabout way (such a bad pun), her daughter’s life depends on it.

This exact issue has been weighing heavily on me (again, what is it with me and the bad puns?) as I realize how many women I know–beautiful, kind, intelligent, loving women–are constantly talking about their weight.

Do not misunderstand me. I am not against taking care of your body, being healthy, exercising or even the all-out-occasional-gripe-fest when it comes to acknowledging the varicose veins/baby pooch/cankles that came with pregnancy that just won’t go away.

But, for me, I am acutely aware that little ears are listening. And for the sake of those little ears, I must love this body. I must, I must, I must.

So read this article, moms. Read this article, dads. Read this article, not-yet-moms and not-yet-dads. Then look in the mirror, and love that bod.

And if all else fails, get yourself some lululemon pants because they really do make your butt look awesome. (photo from coolspotters.com)

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

The past 2 weeks bending over (especially In Front of Others) has Made Me Laugh thinking of your post – especially since my tushi is At Least twice the size of my 20-something 5’9″ 125 pounds skinny self. (Somehow pound creep compounded my 30’s : ) Thanx for this .. : )

Comment by Virginia

Well, love that bod, girl! Love that bod! Thanks for commenting.

Comment by jaymers




Your thoughts are always welcome

