My mom adventures in Fort Collins


Attention Campers
May 6, 2012, 9:31 pm
Filed under: Family | Tags: , ,

As much as I want to be “outdoorsy,” I really have to make an effort. The whole nature thing, ironically, is not natural to me. Don’t get me wrong, I do enjoy many activities that are performed outdoors… it’s just that things like dirt, mosquitoes, sand in my hair, sap on my fingers, hunting, poison ivy, rodents, spiders, fishing for anything other than my keys at the bottom of my purse and about a dozen other things really don’t do it for me. I am a woman who will never tire of comfort. A cozy ottoman to put my feet upon. The occasional pedicure. The bun warmers in cars (not my car, though, unfortunately). Yet, I fell in love with the most incredible man, and this man is a pioneer mountain man living in the wrong century. My man likes his nature. He likes gardening, loves spending time watching the stars, wishes he could raise chickens (darn HOA) and when house shopping he staunchly refused to even look at a home that didn’t have at least 30 years worth of mature trees.

If you ask me what my favorite childhood memory is, I’d tell you about how my family used to go up to my aunt and uncle’s cottage in Northern Wisconsin. We’d fish (with bobbers), swim, lounge about, take paddle boat rides, go tubing, and sit around the fire pit roasting marshmallows.

If you ask Cory what his favorite childhood memory is, he’d tell you about the many camping trips his family took and their little trailer. He might mention Larive Lake in Hot Springs, South Dakota, and his mom cooking up bacon and eggs on the electric griddle at their campsite.

In essence, we have very similar “favorite” memories. We both can still recall (fondly, I might add) the time spent with family, the days and nights of leisure, the sleeping arrangements, the food, and the fun. The only difference is that Cory’s memories involved a small cabin on wheels, and mine involved a small cabin on a lake in the woods.Image

I never camped with my family growing up, but I feel confident enough with Cory’s stories to support this new endeavor. Plus, I always really had a “thing” for summer camp and summer camp movies (“Meatballs,” anyone? What about “Poison Ivy”? Oh oh oh, what was the one with Tatum O’Neal and Kristy McNichol? I loved that one, too!). So, with very little hesitation, I’d like to announce my newest about-to-be-hobby: Camping.

All good hobbies require accoutrements, and ours is a JayCo Swift that sleeps 4-5. I think I have told everyone in my little circle of the world that we’ve made this purchase. I guess that means I’m excited, though not nearly as pumped as my delighted mountain man. Or the two little girls who get to sleep in the awfully cute bunk beds.

Any tips for this newbie?

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Best of luck! My only “camping” experience sounds like yours in a cabin in Northern Michigan growing up. I’ve grown into someone who doesn’t like to travel anywhere without hot water and electricity, so I’m probably of little help! I’m sure, though, you will make many great memories with your kiddos!

Comment by valleygirl96

Our inaugural voyage is in two weeks–just a weekend trip at a nearby lake. I’m actually very excited. Oh–and we have electricity, I mean I can’t plug a crock pot in when the air conditioner is going, but, theorectically, we have electricity. Ha! Thanks for commenting.

Comment by jaymers

My husband loves camping, but I am not a camper. On my second (and last ever) camping trip, I had an allergy attack and ended up packing it in after the second night. Maybe a camper would have worked better than just a tent! I would say make sure you have a healthy amount of bug spray and, if you need it, allergy meds.

Comment by jeandayfriday

Oh, that does sound awful. I don’t blame you for pulling the plug on such an occasion. I have only car camped twice before, about 6 years ago. To me, this camper seems deluxe, though not at all compared to the RVs and Fifth-wheels that you see at all those RV showrooms. For instance, our camper is without a flat screen TV and Lay-Z-Boy recliner and distinctly absent a gas fireplace–whatever will we do??? But seriously, thanks for the words of wisdom. As a newbie, I’m cautiously optimistic… let’s hope it goes smoothly!

Comment by jaymers

No tips from me, but I hope you have a blast! I’ve never been camping.

Comment by the domestic fringe

I have visions of that movie with Lucy and Ricky called, “The Long, Long Trailer.” Have you seen it? Let’s hope we can have all the fun of the outdoors without the marital strain. Ha! Thanks for commenting.

Comment by jaymers

[…] and build happy family memories. Let me give you the background in case you missed it here and here:  I never went camping as a kid and am a nature-lover-in-training, while my husband grew up […]

Pingback by Thoughts on Yellowstone with kids | My mom adventures in Fort Collins




Your thoughts are always welcome

