My mom adventures in Fort Collins


Kitchen success: Muy Caliente Hot Dish
May 10, 2012, 8:40 am
Filed under: Food | Tags: , , , , ,

Here’s what’s left of my thrown together dinner… guess it went over okay.

If you haven’t already figured it out, I am low on organization, high on expectations. I usually do a nightly dance where I wander around my kitchen expecting to create something delicious. Unfortunately, this works much better when you plan a bit in advance. “Oh, I could make ____, but I don’t have ___,” and such things will be uttered. Occasionally, I will go shopping in my freezer and my pantry and come up with a winner. Here it is!

Since it is a completely made up recipe (well, I’m sure someone else has made it, but this is one recipe I didn’t score from my usual sources…), I can call it whatever I want.

“Chorizo Ole Pie” and “Spicy Mamacita Casserole” were also contenders. I encourage you to use those alternative names, should you chose. “Muy Caliente Hot Dish” is my personal fave, albeit redundant. I am not from Minnesota, but I was born in a neighboring state and I do have a love of the term “hot dish.” I’ve asked the good people of Lake Woebegon if they’ll give me a special dispensation for use of the term. I’m sure they’ll agree that this recipe is above average.

Muy Caliente Hot Dish

1 lb of chorizo (the Mexican kind, not the Spanish kind)

3-4 cups of cooked rice

1 can (14.5 oz) Diced Tomatoes and Green Chiles (I used the one from Muir Glen organics, it has *fire roasted* tomatoes and green chiles…mmm)

1 cup (or more) of shredded cheese (the shredded stuff from a bag called “Mexican blend” is what I used)

1. If your rice is not already cooked, you’ll want to do that. I happened to have some rice in my freezer. That particular batch of rice had a bit of salt in it, some fresh–at the time–cilantro and some butter. If you want, doctor up your rice with some butter and salt and fresh cilantro, too! Can’t hurt, right?

2. Cook your chorizo in a skillet until thoroughly cooked. Break it into little crumbles as you go. Approximately 7-8 minutes. Drain.

3. Mix rice, chorizo and can of tomatoes in a large bowl.

4. Dump rice mixture into a small greased casserole dish (I used a 10 x 10 brownie pan).  Bake at 350 for 15-20 minutes uncovered, or until cheese is melted and bubbly.

This dish would also be great with a can of black beans mixed in with the rice mixture, or even just some sliced black olives on the top. Mmm. It was a  hit–even my two-year-old tried it and ate a surprising amount for how spicy it was.

10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This sounds really good! BTW I cook just like you.

Comment by the domestic fringe

See, but reading your blog, you seem sooo much more organized than me. Had me fooled! Thanks for commenting.

Comment by jaymers

lol. Maybe I just put up a good front. Here’s proof…
http://thedomesticfringe.com/2008/10/07/spontaneous-cooking/

Comment by the domestic fringe

I feel like I could have written that! Well, not the papaya chicken recipe, though–sounds awesome! I loved the line, “Spontaneity doesn’t work in a kitchen unless your kitchen happens to be right smack in the center of a grocery store.” So true. Why haven’t I learned this lesson yet?

Comment by jaymers

This sounds yummy, and like something I could actually pull off!

Comment by RFL

The key to avoiding crunchy rice is to just put it in the casserole already cooked, right? Thanks for commenting.

Comment by jaymers

I’ve never thought of freezing rice. I hate using it because the kind I like takes forever to cook. Now I know an easier way! Thank you! And the recipe looks so good. I love Chorizo. It’s been too long since I’ve had it.

Comment by kwehkweh

I’m not going to say that this rice will taste perfect, but it does work really well to throw into casseroles, soups or stuffed peppers. So, freeze away, m’lady! Thanks for commenting.

Comment by jaymers

What’s the difference between Mexican and Spanish Chorizo? I’ve only tried one kind and I’m not sure where it came from.

Comment by sybaritica

All righty, I’ll do my best. As I understand it, Spanish chorizo is a dried sausage–think pepperoni in a stick-form, it’s cured and you can read more about it here: http://www.marthastewart.com/268944/have-you-tried-dried-chorizo. Mexican chorizo is a spiced pork sausage, which you buy raw and cook like you would any raw pork sausage. I used the Mexican chorizo in this recipe. Thanks for commenting, hope I did okay in explaining this!

Comment by jaymers




Your thoughts are always welcome

