My mom adventures in Fort Collins


In defense of naps
May 14, 2012, 11:05 pm
Filed under: Family, Just making conversation | Tags: , , , ,

I know that it was Mother’s Day recently. Maybe you had the same request that I had. When my husband asked me what I wanted to do, I laughed and said, “I want to take a nap.”

That actually didn’t happen for me, but I did have a lovely Mother’s Day complete with a delectable breakfast–that I didn’t have to cook!! But what is it about a nap that is always so enticing?

Oddly, my children never understood the beauty of resting during the day. Scout gave up napping around the time her sister came along (so, two and a half) and Ruby pretty much gave up napping right around the age of 2. Most people are shocked, and some have even suggested that it’s way too early for these girls to be cutting out their naps. I couldn’t agree more! But they won’t listen to me.

What you’re seeing here is akin to witnessing the snow leopard in the wild.

Here is a consolidation of my many nap issues:

  1. When they were little babies–Scout was worse than Ruby, but still–they didn’t nap for long periods of time. I felt duped. Aren’t babies supposed to sleep all the time? Scout would take a 20 minute catnap, tops, and sometimes three times a day.
  2. Once they went down to one nap a day (for Scout this was around 15 months, and for Ruby it was 11 or 12 months), that’s when I finally got a solid nap out of them. Seriously, over an hour and I’d be in heaven.If they did two hours ever I would totally go check on them to make sure they were still breathing.
  3. My personal policy on naptime is that it’s “me” time. A Stay-at-home-mom gets very few breaks during the day, and as we all know, rarely even gets to enjoy the bathroom alone. I felt it was imperative that I took the naptime as my downtime. Sure, there was all sorts of stuff I could have been doing–laundry, cleaning, baking, cleaning, dusting, vacuuming, and cleaning–but I felt like my “me” time could end at any moment and so I’d better enjoy it for what it was worth–not waste that time on superficial things like tidying up the place.
  4. Naptime always messed my kids up. Scout did this weird grouch thing. Spending 30-45 minutes of my day watching her come out of her crabby nap-funk is not worth it, in my opinion. Ruby, on the other hand, seems to have a set limit on the amount of sleep she gets in any given day. Should she take a nap for an hour, that meant she’d push her own bedtime back an hour. A nice rest for her during the afternoon meant that I got to a) watch one kid instead of two, and b) put her to bed at 10 pm instead of 8 pm. Yeah, um, thanks but no thanks.
  5. Even though a break in the afternoon would be lovely, I’d trade naptime for a decent night’s rest for both of them any day. Some days, it did feel like if they got a decent nap, then we’d sacrifice on bedtime in some way. Unfortunately, that’s not always how it works. Somedays are just crummy sleep days, what are you gonna do? But as it is around here, Scout sleeps 11 hours a night and Ruby sleeps 12 usually. Due to the benevolence of the Lord and the likely knowledge of the sub-par treatment they would receive if they did, they do not get up at 5 am, 5:30 am or 6 am. Usually, they sleep until 7:30 am, sometimes later. Like most things in parenthoodland, I find that this is my trade off. I never had good nappers, but I got some kids who sleep in. I best be knocking on some wood right about now.

What about you? Do you have amazing nappers? If so, keep it to yourself. But seriously, do you too harbor secret dreams that include indulgent, decadent naps? Tell me a great nap story.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

My kids generally napped until they were about 2. After that, forget it! As for me, I still enjoy a good nap. In fact, that was exactly what I did get for Mother’s Day.

Comment by valleygirl96

Oooh. I am jealous. Thanks for commenting!

Comment by jaymers

My dudes napped until they were almost three. I think I forced the youngest to nap just so I would have a bit of time to do things (or nap with them)!

Comment by jeandayfriday

Ain’t no shame in forcing a nap–if it works! Thanks for commenting!

Comment by jaymers

[…] that elicit sympathy and others that elicit envy. Some painfully real and relatable. Some of them, my own. Most of them anecdotal. Many of them, I’ve probably forgotten because I’ve never […]

Pingback by I’m so predictable: A mom talks of sleep « My mom adventures in Fort Collins




Your thoughts are always welcome

