My mom adventures in Fort Collins


Camping: A progress report
May 21, 2012, 12:07 am
Filed under: Family, Parenting | Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

We made our maiden voyage with the ol’ JayCo Swift this weekend. Dare I say it was a success? Sure, I forgot my flip-flops, and it did rain a bit, but the kids and my husband–oh, my husband–had such a fantastic time. Therefore, I had such a fantastic time.

My list of why I now love camping is expanding every time I think about it, but here’s a general run-down of our fun times:

The weather, when it cooperates, lends itself to happy hikers.

Ruby was shaking it right up the hill

The weather, when it doesn’t cooperate, lends itself to cozy inside time.

The kids got to watch a movie, my hubby and I got in a game of cribbage and I got to finish my book!

The weather, even after it doesn’t cooperate, does make amends.

Aw…

The best dessert in the world might just be roasted, toasty marshmallows.

The roasters loved the flames, but not the smoke (hence the sunglasses)

Taking all of us away from our everyday routine proved restorative.

Throwing rocks on the beach

This camping thing might be a very fun hobby for all of us.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Looks like fun! I just bought that book – was it good? 🙂

Comment by jeandayfriday

I loved the book. I think I’m going to become one of those obnoxious people, always going around saying, “Oh that reminds me of this book I just read…” Thanks, as always, for commenting!

Comment by jaymers

Look like fun. Can’t wait to get the family out camping this year.

Comment by OurBoler

It was fun! For a rookie, I think I did pretty well. We’re hoping to do it a few times this summer, but we were kind of late in the planning of everything. Next year, we’re ON it! Thanks for commenting.

Comment by jaymers

[…] vacations and build happy family memories. Let me give you the background in case you missed it here and here:  I never went camping as a kid and am a nature-lover-in-training, while my husband grew […]

Pingback by Thoughts on Yellowstone with kids | My mom adventures in Fort Collins




Your thoughts are always welcome

