My mom adventures in Fort Collins


Quick Thought: Queen Bees and Wannabees

I am finally reading “Queen Bees and Wannabees” by Rosalind Wiseman. You know the book, it’s a non-fiction account of Girl World, written by a woman who started an empowerment program in the nineties. She did workshops all-over with adolescent girls and her book is essentially a sociology experiment (anthropology experiment??): Cliques, social hierarchy, bullying, etc.

I’ve only just begun, but I had this thought: It gets better.

You know the Dan Savage program out there for gay adolescents? Well, really, maybe we could extend the same message to all adolescents.

I am only 35 pages into this blessed book, and already I’m having flashbacks to my own awkward middle school years, where I started out a petite girl (I remember wearing size 3 pants) and left in eight grade at my present height (5’9″) and weighed 135-140 lbs. That’s saying nothing about the friend drama, only the body trauma.

Sometime soon, I will have to write letters to my own daughters for them to open upon the beginning of fifth grade. It will start with the line, “Before you roll your eyes…”

Image

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Your thoughts are always welcome

