My mom adventures in Fort Collins


Kitchen Success: World’s easiest pot roast

I don’t think I’ve ever been shy about what excites me in the kitchen: easy and tasty. This dish is easy peasy, tasty, won’t heat up your kitchen, smells delicious and as an added bonus it is the kind of comfort food that makes you feel satisfied and might even conjure up memories of lovely home cooked meals.

Beef roast ingredients await their exciting purpose…

What you need:

a slow cooker, a beef roast (I used a 3 lb bone-in beef chuck roast, but usually I use bonelss–either will work), a can of condensed cream of mushroom soup, a packet of Lipton onion soup mix, four carrots (or so) chopped, 4-6 red potatoes or yukon gold potatoes in quarters

Beef roast in the crock pot, cozy and snug (pre-brown gravy goo)

The “cooking” (this is the best part!):

Layer your beef roast, carrots and potatoes in your slow cooker. In a separate bowl, mix together the condensed cream of mushroom soup with your packet of onion soup. Dump the brown goo looking soup-on-soup mixture on top of the beef and veggies. Try to stir it up a bit, but it doesn’t have to be completely commingled.

Beef roast BEFORE PHOTO (Do you see why I call it brown goo?)

Now cook on low in your slow cooker for 8-10 hours. Most slow cooker purists will tell you to keep that top on, but I say, “Feel free to stir once or twice to get everything good and covered with the delicious gravy.”

Beef roast AFTER PHOTO (And by now, your kitchen smells like heaven)

I served this to my family and everyone ate it. And even tried the veggies! I served this along with sauteed yellow squash and raw kohlrabi from the farmer’s market. Ta-da!

My half-eaten plate (You can tell me if this is a weird photo, because I’m really not sure if this is gross or not)

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Love your blog Jayme. Is that a cocktail I see with the roast dinner?

Comment by Lexie

Ummm. Maybe…

Comment by jaymers

i really like the ‘beef roast ingredients awaiting their purpose’ (!) … sounds a little like life??? we wait sometimes to sort out our purpose? : )

… & the last pic is great, not gross, as it shows what a yummy dinner you made! kudos to you & thanks for sharing.. (have to confess i chuckled over the purposed-filled ingredients all last week : ) –

grace, peace & purpose-driven ingredients – Virginia

Comment by Virginia

Thanks for commenting, Virginia. Glad I could make you laugh. Would it have been even funnier if I showed a photo of a cow and said it was the beef roast ingredients awaiting their exciting purpose???

Comment by jaymers




Your thoughts are always welcome

