My mom adventures in Fort Collins


Raindrops on roses, words with sweet humor: Here are a few of my favorite blogs

Oh, dear, I have such a hard time keeping up with my beloved blogs. If only there were more time in the day, right? But every once in a while, you have to do a little love-fest for all those wonderful writers that unknowingly affect your day.

Here goes!

Foodimentary. I would like to thank my lucky stars for the many factoids I have learned from this website. Including the one I learned today. “An average dairy cow can produce enough milk in her lifetime to make a little over 9,000 gallons of ice cream.” Which begs the question, who wants to go in on a dairy cow with me?

A Lot on Your Plate. This is such a mommy’s-best-friend kind of site, filled with ideas on organization, household products, recipes and other domesticity-related treats. For example, today’s post is a list of green household cleaners. I mean, I don’t know a lot of writers who can make trying new cleaning products fun, but I can’t help wanting to get my hands on these useful wonders.

Postcards from Colorado. I’m fairly certain that one look at this site and it’s self-explanatory, but indulge me this one small fact: When I first moved to Colorado 7 years ago, I remember seeing these bumper stickers that had the Colorado mountain outline (the one that is prominent on Colorado license plates) and it had the word “NATIVE” in the mountain outline. Well, then one day I saw a bumper sticker with the same iconic mountain outline only it had the words “NOT A NATIVE BUT I GOT HERE AS SOON AS I COULD.” Yeah, that.

Becoming Cliche. I love following this blogger’s adventures with her work, family and life. She’s a hilarious story teller, and more than once I’ve had that kind of feeling you get on WordPress–“Hey, this person sounds really cool!” Check out her recent review of the Legoland Discovery Center in Atlanta.

Unhappy Mommy. Though you’d think by the title this blog would be a dour tale, but it’s not. It’s an introspective look at mommyhood, as told by Fiona’s mommy. Read this recent post about how happy this Mommy was after finding the perfect pre-school. I can so relate!

Me, Myself and Kids. A doting dad’s perspective on parenthood. I often read something on this blog and realize how much it resonates with me and my experiences with my kids. Parenthood isn’t always this universal, so it’s nice to find a writer who shares his perspective openly and honestly. I learned in a recent post that his pre-family perspective wasn’t all that different from mine either.

And as always, my ongoing list of faves includes Rich, Full Life, June Cleaver in Yoga Pants, Heiditown, Feasting Fort Collins and Bumpy Road to Bubba.

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This is such a sweet post. Thank you so much, I really appreciate your kind words 🙂

Comment by alotonyourplate

You are very welcome. Keep up the great work, I love your site!

Comment by jaymers

Thanks so much for including us in your ongoing list of faves 🙂 There are a few new blogs in here that I haven’t seen so will check them out!

Comment by bumpyroadtobubba

Oh, good, glad I could offer some new stuff for you. You know I love your writing and your candor. Of course, your photos of your sweet Bubba and furry friends will keep me coming back. And a resounding “YES!” to dairy cows and delicious frozen treats.

Comment by jaymers

Oh, and by the way, if we didn’t live on the other side of the world, I would totally go halves on a dairy cow with you!

Comment by bumpyroadtobubba

Thanks for the compliment and i am glad you can relate to the posts.

Comment by memyselfandkids

Absolutely, you’re very welcome. Keep doing what you do, it’s fantastic!

Comment by jaymers

Cool.

Comment by memyselfandkids

[…] Raindrops on roses, words with sweet humor: Here are a few of my favorite blogs […]

Pingback by Whoops! An addendum to my list of favorite blogs « My mom adventures in Fort Collins




Your thoughts are always welcome

