My mom adventures in Fort Collins


Kitchen success: Easy lettuce-less delight salad

Before I begin to share this simple, fresh and tastes-like-summer salad, I’d like to share that right now I’m typing this in the dark from the floor of my husband’s office and it’s about 800 degrees in here. Why? Well, the other day my dog, who has a chronic OCD licking problem and thus must be collared with the cone of shame every day of his life, walked into my cord for my computer. This wouldn’t have been such a big deal if my computer hadn’t been perched at the end of the kitchen table and a mere 4 feet from the electrical outlet. Thud. I was actually amazed that my puny little netbook continued to go on as if it hadn’t missed a beat.  Of course, much later I realized that the wireless was all goofed up. Cory took a look at it, took it apart, and figures that the wireless card became dislodged in some manner. He tells me it’s hopeless, and I am the dutiful wife of a software engineer and thus I must stand by my man and say: “Ethernet cord for me.” This wouldn’t be such a big deal either, except my husband works from home so until I find a 40 foot cord that will accommodate my need to be wired and his need for a functional office, I will be here in the “off hours.” I’m on the floor only due to sheer lazyness. And it’s 800 degrees because I haven’t opened the windows after all the mosquito spraying that they did around here tonight (hmm… pesticides or West Nile Virus? I guess if I’d have to pick, I’d say pesticides are the less annoying of the pair).

Onto the salad. I find that it’s more fun if you pronounce it SA-ladddd. Like “salon” but with a “d” sound at the end. It’s even more fun if you say this while wearing an ascot and a smoking jacket, but I digress. (Again.)

Ingredients:

2-4 tomatoes (depending on the size), coarsely chopped

1 avocado, coarsely chopped

1 cucumber, peeled, seeded and chopped

1-2 Tablespoons red onion, finely chopped

salt (to taste)

pepper (to taste)

fresh cilantro, chopped (to taste, but I suggest a Tablespoon)

lime juice (to taste)

You got your summer fresh deliciousness just waiting for the coarse chopping to begin

This–with the exception of the avocado–was all from our garden. Yay for gardens, but boo for the darn drought because all of our pepper plants died (otherwise we could add those to our lettuce-less delight as well!).

After you chop everything, just toss all the ingredients in a bowl and dress with a few squeezes of lime juice. Divide into portions. OR, you can even serve this like a chunky dip with tortilla chips, or as a fun condiment for burgers or grilled chicken sandwiches.

I will say this for the salad–I personally like to leave the tomatoes chunked with seeds and juices because I find that the juices pair well with the lime juice, salt and the creaminess of the avocado to create a bit of a dressing to the salad. That being said, it can get pretty darn juicy. If you’d like, seed and discard the innards of half of the tomatoes.

Also, I think I’m getting a new camera for my anniversary–shh! Don’t tell him I figured it out–so I’m hoping to greatly improve on my sad little photo commentary. I think this blurry photo DOES actually look like a tantalizing treat, but that’s because I was there and I know for a fact that it WAS a tantalizing treat. But I’d be delighted if you take my word for it!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Nice… lettuce gets so boring!

Comment by sybaritica

Lettuce can be such a snooze fest. Absolutely! But, arugula, on the other hand, is always interesting and lovely. Thanks for the comment.

Comment by jaymers

The salad looks good. Sorry about your computer. Silly dog.
~FringeGirl

Comment by the domestic fringe

You’re so sweet to comment. Silly dog is right. Lucky for me, my hubby picked up a USB drive wireless card and we’re back on track. Woohoo!

Comment by jaymers




Your thoughts are always welcome

