My mom adventures in Fort Collins


Try this at home: Lemon Ice
September 8, 2012, 12:04 am
Filed under: Food | Tags: , , , , , , ,

When I was a teenager, there was a summer ritual involving going to the local Six Flags (the one I went to, and the only one I’ve ever been to, was Six Flags Great America in Gurnee, Illinois). We rode rollercoasters in the hot sun and ate delicious food that we’d buy from vendors. One such food cart that I remember fondly carried a product that was called Lemon Chill. It was, essentially, lemon ice.

Image from blogs.dallasobserver.com

So, when I saw this recipe in the good ol’ Everyday Food Magazine (it’s such a source of inspiration, I swear), I had to try it. It’s simple and yet it’s time consuming. It’s relatively easy, only I still manged to use damn near every pot and dish in my kitchen. Do you know those kinds of recipes? Anyway, it was a little taste of summer and a bit nostalgic for me, too. Even though summer is almost over, this is a good one to try now or anytime at all.

Ingredients:

1 1/4 cup lemon juice (fresh squeezed from 10 lemons)

1 cup of sugar (2/3 cup and 1/3 cup separated)

3 egg whites (I used the pasteurized egg whites you can find in the refrigerated section right next to the egg beaters and the real eggs)

1/4 cup of water

My little helpers assisted me in juicing the lemons. Did you know that lemons will juice more easily if they are at room temperature? If you don’t have time to let them sit out at room temp, just throw them in a bath of warmish water for a bit.

1. Combine 2/3 cup of sugar and 1/4 cup of water in a small sauce pan, and heat over low heat until the sugar dissolves (about 3 minutes).

2. Combine the lemon juice with the simple syrup, and transfer to a large bowl and allow to cool (about 30 minutes).

3. Beat the egg whites with a mixer (I used my Kitchen Aid, but you could use a hand mixer) on high until foamy (about 2 minutes). Then turn the mixer down a bit and gradually add the remaining 1/3 cup of sugar. Return to mixing on high until soft peaks form (about 5 minutes).

The egg whites will transform from runny snot-like transluscent liquid into this beautiful, light, fluffy, white shaving-cream-esque substance.

4. Gently fold the egg whites in with the lemon syrup. Transfer to a 9 x 9 pan, and allow to set in the freezer (about 2 hours).

When you fold the egg whites in with the lemon syrup, it may initially seem like these two substances will act like oil and water… but, don’t worry, they’ll come around.

You can see the photo from the magazine sitting next to the 9×9 pan (it was indeed an inspiration!)

5. After two hours, you’ll pull the pan out of the freezer and using a fork or spoon, mash up the mixture (which will have begun to separate). Put the pan back in the freezer until it fully sets (about 4 hours).

One other suggestion (probably seems obvious to everyone except me!) is to use a pan that doesn’t have a coating. The mashing with a fork part did a number on the coating of my super-cheap pan.

6. When you remove your pan from the freezer, you may find (at least, I did) a bit of separation in the form of liquid-ish looking stuff at the top. Once you dig into your pan, though, the remainder will be light, fluffy and appear more like ice cream-type consistency.

Here’s the finished product. I tried to give Cory this small green bowl, but he could only finish half! Be forewarned: IT’S TART!

Happy recipients of my homemade “Lemon Chill” (Ruby did ask for seconds, guess she likes sour stuff!)

Now, this recipe is somewhat labor intensive, and you seem to wait forever for the finished product, but I do declare “It’s worth it!”

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This sounds so tasty…and I cook like that in the kitchen all the time. My husband thinks the only reason I like cooking with him is because he follows behind cleaning up messes! It’s probably true…

Comment by candbjones

I am glad to hear that I am not alone in the least-efficient-cook department. Truly, I should never ever be allowed to cook because that means there will probably never be a clean kitchen.

Comment by jaymers




Your thoughts are always welcome

