My mom adventures in Fort Collins


Garden Fresh: Pico de Gallo
September 26, 2012, 9:09 pm
Filed under: Food | Tags: , , , , , , ,

As I reported earlier this week, I have a bucket-load of produce that I’m trying to use up. What to do? Put these goodies to good use, right?

Tomatoes, onions and limes–Oh, My! Tomatoes, onions and lime–Oh, My! (Can you tell we’re really into the Wizard of Oz at my house?)

One of the first concoctions that I made was a fave of ours–Pico de Gallo. I love easy, don’t you? And you don’t get a whole lot more bang for the buck than pico de gallo–great as a fresh alternative to salsa, as an accompaniment to tacos or fajitas, or even as a salad-topper. Seriously, make a pico de gallo-topped black bean burger, this stuff can’t be stopped.

This is what the delicious mix of freshness looks like!

Ingredients:

1 lb Fresh tomatoes

1/4 cup chopped white onion

1 clove garlic, minced

1/2 cup Fresh cilantro

Optional–Fresh jalapeno (seeded and chopped)

Fresh lime juice (from one lime)

salt (to taste)
Mix ingredients together, Let flavors meld for a bit (30 minutes or so) and serve. And eat it up–this stuff doesn’t keep very well, maybe a day or so in the fridge.

Just a few thoughts:

  • This makes a great batch no matter what size you put together–so even if you only have a few tomatoes, try it! Just downsize the other ingredients.
  • Use a salad spinner to dry your bunch of cilantro–why didn’t I think of this sooner?
  • As I said, this stuff doesn’t keep all that well–If you need to use it up quick, throw it in some rice for a quick alternative to Spanish Rice or add it to your next batch of chili, chicken tortilla soup or spice up some tomato soup. If you’re really feeling brave, simmer it on your stove top with 1 tsp of cumin and 1 tsp tumeric and create a tomato chutney.
4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This looks amazing! I love pico.

Comment by RFL

Me too! Easy and yummy, now all I need is the perfect chip!

Comment by jaymers

YUM! Looks so good.
~FringeGirl

Comment by FringeGirl

Thank you! We need to get on that Willy Wonka television that transports chocolate bars–smellervision, or whatever it was called. From my kitchen to your computer screen!

Comment by jaymers




Your thoughts are always welcome

