My mom adventures in Fort Collins


Kitchen success: Basil Pine Nut Pesto
October 8, 2012, 10:11 pm
Filed under: Food | Tags: , , , , ,

It’s really helpful if you have someone who can assist you in the kitchen (wink, wink… I think she ate more of it than she grated)

I think I’ve tried a couple different versions of pesto, and I have yet to find one that I didn’t like. Whether it’s with pine nuts or almonds, basil or arugula, I do enjoy the deliciousness.

Not a great photo… but I think that you can see that I picked an entire grocery sack full of basil from Miller Farms. Pick through the leaves and discard the flowers (if there are any) and stems.

I put this bit together right after we returned from the much-talked about Miller Farms. This one is a fairly traditional recipe, and it’s built around the basil. So if you have more or less of the basil, configure the oil, nuts, garlic and Parmesan around that.

Bright green and tastes like heaven

Basil Pesto:

  • Coarse salt and ground pepper (to taste)
  • 2 garlic cloves, peeled and minced
  • 1/4 cup toasted pine nuts (toast in oven at 300 for 5-7 minutes)
  • 6 cups loosely packed fresh basil leaves
  • 1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan

Combine ingredients in your food processor and blend until a thick, bright green paste forms. Store in small containers (baby food jars are perfect!) with a saran wrap piece smooshed down on top of the mix (because once the air hits the basil, it turns it a deeper shade of green, so the saran wrap protects it). You can also freeze pesto–it keeps for a long time!

Suggestions: Spread it on garlic toast, combine it with mayonnaise to make a delicious chicken salad ingredient, toss it with cooked pasta and a small amount of half-and-half to create a creamy pesto pasta dish.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Looks amazing! I love, love, love pesto! Must try this ASAP!

Comment by jeandayfriday

I’m telling you–it’s all in the cuisinart (or blender). All you have to do is throw together the ingredients and the machine does the rest: it’s like a grown up version of playdough toys.

Comment by jaymers

Guess I didn’t know I could reply to this. J Sounds de-lish!

Comment by Reichert, Karen

Thanks, Mommers!

Comment by jaymers




Your thoughts are always welcome

