My mom adventures in Fort Collins


Kitchen Success: Spicy Asian-inspired Chicken and Cabbage Soup
October 11, 2012, 5:54 pm
Filed under: Food | Tags: , , , , , ,

I hate to keep going on and on and on about my problem with the vegetables coming out of my ears, but, well, vegetables are coming out of my ears. Apparently, when I pick-my-own veggies by the shopping bag full, I like to cram them very full.

One of the four hand-picked heads of cabbage. I just shredded my cabbage with a box grater, and it was very fine.

One of the things that I really struggled with is cabbage. I had 4 heads of cabbage. I do still want to make some sauerkraut, but that wouldn’t necessitate 4 heads of cabbage. So, I went to good ol’ allrecipes.com and I came up with this gem.

The brothy goodness of this soup is somewhat soaked up by the cabbage, making it a bit more stew-like.

Ingredients:

2 breasts of chicken (or approximately 1.5 lbs of chicken, if you choose to use other cuts)

2 quarts of chicken broth or chicken stock

4 medium carrots, peeled and julienned into matchsticks

2 leeks, halved cross-wised, cleaned thoroughly and sliced thinly

1 small head of cabbage, shredded

1 tsp ginger (I didn’t have fresh, but I bet that would be great!)

1 clove garlic, minced

cooked egg noodles (optional)

**And the most important part** Sriracha sauce, dispensed in the individual bowls and dependent upon the appropriate spice level

Directions:

In a dutch oven, poach the chicken breasts in the broth/stock on medium-low until cooked and tender, about 20 minutes. Remove and set aside to cool. Turn up the heat to medium. Add the carrots and leaks and cook until tender, about 10 minutes. Add the cabbage and spices and cook for another 5 minutes. Meanwhile, shred the chicken and once everything is cooked through, reintroduce the chicken to the soup. Cover the dutch oven and allow the flavors to meld, but you can turn off the heat to prevent the chicken from getting tough.

Serve with egg noodles. If you desire, you could also substitute cooked Ramen noodles or cooked broken spaghetti noodles. As far as leftovers, don’t store the noodles in the broth, or they’ll soak up too much of the liquid. However, don’t forget the Sriracha (or some other chilli sauce or hot sauce)–the kick from the Sriracha sauce gives it that extra something.

When I was reading the reviews for this soup, someone mentioned that this soup reminds them of the filling you find in eggrolls. And I couldn’t agree more! Yum, and filling and relatively low cal. Enjoy!

**Oh, and I hesitated to post this until I had tried a little something. See, I had so much of this soup that I stored some in the freezer. Well, I tried it tonight and I’m going to go ahead and give this the store-in-the-freezer stamp of approval. You won’t want to freeze it with the noodles, if you’re using them, and you may even want to add an additional can of broth or a cup of water to the soup since the cabbage does seem to “soak up” some of the liquid, but the flavor and the essence of the soup survived the freezer just fine..

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Your thoughts are always welcome

