My mom adventures in Fort Collins


Using it up: Caramelized onions
October 18, 2012, 9:33 am
Filed under: Food | Tags: , , , ,

Seriously, you will be getting my posts regarding Miller Farms bounty for quite some time. This is my inspiration for caramelized onions, you can see I tweaked it a bit.

Though, truth be told, these onions would have kept in my basement for a while and needn’t have been slayed so early on in the “use it up” process, it just so happened that I had a hankering for caramelized onions on top of goat cheese on top of crusty bread toasted in my oven for 7-8 minutes. So, off with their heads… or something like that.

My onions, sitting in the kitchen sink where they were getting a much-needed scrub down.

Do you love chopping onions as much as I do? When I wore contacts, I could chop, slice and dice with the best of them. Seriously, when I worked at this cute coffee and sandwich shop back in college, they would make me slice the onions in our pantry closet with the door shut because I was the only one who could do it without crying and slobbering everywhere. Now that I have reclaimed the persona of my sixth grade photograph with the awesome tortoise shell glasses, I find that the cutting of onions is more problematic. I try to just hurry up and get it done.

You will need:

A dutch oven (mine is only 6 quarts, but bigger would be better)

3-4 Tablespoons of butter

A bunch of yellow onions (maybe 6 large ones is what I used, so like 9-10 medium ones, you can adjust accordingly)

1 teaspoon of salt (adjust this if you’re using salted butter, I always use unsalted butter)

1 Tablespoon of sugar (which you add after things have cooked down for about 30 minutes or so)

An awful lot of patience and pot-tending

Slice those bad boys–first into half, then into half-moons. You’ll want slices, not slivers, not chunks. Slivers get stringy, and chunks don’t cook down as well.

My mound of sliced onions and my too-small dutch oven–don’t tell my favorite pot that I’ve been talking about her behind her back!

In you dutch oven, you’ll melt your butter and add your onions. Add them until they are pretty full to the top but you can still stir things around. It’s amazing how this will all cook down, so make all your effort worth it by cramming as many onions in this pot as you possibly can without flinging them all out onto your stove top with every turn of the spoon.

You can see how it’s getting golden in color, and it’s cooking down. Keep stirring, it’s still got a way to go!

You will start on medium high heat and keep the pot stirring. It will take 20-25 minutes before your onions start getting golden. I had this horrible problem because my onions were too fresh and not dried, they left an immense amount of liquid and refused to brown. My solution: I let them sit and drain in a colander for about 10 minutes while I did some other things, then I put them back in the dutch oven and we started from there. They caramelized like good little onions after that.

After you start noticing some golden hues and you’re getting a bit of burnt-up-deliciousness on the bottom of your pot (I’m certain that “burnt-up-deliciousness” is the technical term for this), go ahead and turn your heat down and add your sugar. Keep stirring. Just keep stirring. Even when you don’t want to, just do it.

After another 20-30 minutes, your onions will be very golden and completely jam-like in consistency. Here is where your hard work pays off, I swear!

Carmelized onion toasts: Whole wheat bread, goat cheese, carmelized onions. Bake at 350 for 7-8 minutes, serve with your favorite tomato soup!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Oh, you’re making me VERY hungry…J Yum!

Comment by Reichert, Karen




Your thoughts are always welcome

