My mom adventures in Fort Collins


MiniMurph and Spiderwebs: Cheap thrills for the kids

I know that our highly-consumeristic culture often emphasizes going places with your kids, doing “stuff” with your kids, buying “stuff” for your kids, and a lot of these things cost money. I personally try to avoid feeling like we have to spend money to have a good time. We go to parks, we pack picnics, we play with friends, we make crafts, we enjoy our time with one another. You get it. My love don’t cost a thing. Money can’t buy you love. The best things in life are free. All that.

But every once in a while it’s good to know that there are cheap options out there. I know of a $5 pizza kit and a $2 packet of synthetic spiderwebs that might just rock your world.

You may have heard of the pizza chain Papa Murphy’s pizza. It is a “Take and Bake” establishment: you come into the store, tell the nice folks behind the counter what you want on your pizza, then they create and saran wrap a pizza that you can take home and bake in your own oven.

My parents used to frequent this place, and my hubby generally likes it. I myself don’t love the pizza, but it’s often a good choice because it’s cheap and easy. We get this stuff once a month or so, and the kids will eat it.

Well, while I was having a fun day in Denver recently, Cory got the girls their own personal pizzas. It’s called the MiniMurph.It’s a pizza kit complete with dough, sauce, cheese, and pepperoni (if you’re into that, my kids definitely ARE into pepperoni). As a bonus: They come in the cutest mini-pizza boxes that are now being used in our play kitchen.

Spreading the sauce

I saw the photos and thought I’d share. Looks fun, right?

With their finished products

My other suggestion for cheap thrills is the awesome Spider-web-in-a-packet that you  can find at any craft store (I found mine at JoAnn’s), Halloween store, party store, and possibly even Target or Wal-Mart. Surely you know the type of packet I’m talking about.

Decorating pretty much anything at all for Halloween is a source of big fun at our house. But my kids didn’t even know these existed. They had a hand in creating the spooky porch, and they are thrilled. Twenty minutes of fun, and as a bonus the packet had little plastic spiders that they embedded in the spiderwebs. Porches are great for this stuff, but the wind has taken much of ours down by now (consider yourself forewarned). If you don’t have a porch just use thumbtacks to drape this stuff inside your window frame (inside or outside), cover a bush, or string it from your ceiling. A little of this stuff goes a long way–I’d recommend one packet to start with.

Marvel at the spooky spiderwebs… oooooooohhh

There you have it–cheap thrills for the kids, both under $10. What are some of your favorite cheap-fun-with-kids ideas?

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Love the ideas…so darn cute!

Comment by Reichert, Karen

Thanks, mommers! You are so sweet to comment!

Comment by jaymers

I like you philosophy.
Enjoy the pizza!

Comment by memyselfandkids

Free has its place. So does cheap. And occasionally a splurge is called for, right?

Comment by jaymers

Absolutely!

Comment by memyselfandkids




Your thoughts are always welcome

