My mom adventures in Fort Collins


Feeling Fall: Pumpkin soup
November 1, 2012, 12:20 pm
Filed under: Food | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I know that people mock the overuse of pumpkin this time of year, but not me. While not the World’s Largest Fan of the Pumpkin Spice Latte (really, who is?), I love assorted other pumpkin foods: pumpkin bars, pumpkin pie, pumpkin bread and, of course, pumpkin soup. A good friend gave me this recipe, and I have to say that it’s a gem. You can use pureed roasted pumpkin (from a pie pumpkin, or sugar pumpkin), or canned pumpkin–either way, it’s delicious.

The pumpkin soup, in all its tasty deliciousness

The first time I made this soup, I roasted my own pumpkins. These are pumpkins I got from Miller Farms way back in September. (Yes, I’m still talking about the produce I got from Miller Farms–I’m so going back there next year!) I tried various ways to roast it, and the easiest is the one I actually didn’t try–just fork the pumpkin several times and stick the whole thing in the oven. If you are not feeling adventurous (if throwing an entire pumpkin in the oven qualifies as “adventurous” for you, then welcome to my world), just do what I did and hack the pumpkin into a few pieces and roast it at 450 for about 25-30 minutes (whenever the flesh is tender).

I tried a variety of methods–hack the pumpkin into quarters and roast, peel and cut and boil–and it’s definitely easier to avoid peeling the skin off. Next time I’m going to roast the pumpkin whole. (Wish I’d known that trick before I roasted my hacked up pieces.)

After your pumpkin is roasted, scrape the flesh from the skin, ditch the seeds and stringy parts, and puree this in your food processor. You may now begin in earnest.

The pureed fresh pumpkin will look slightly less orange than canned pumpkin… I’m not exactly sure why, though.

Ingredients:

2 Tablespoons butter

1 diced medium onion

2 garlic cloves, minced

4 cups of pureed pumpkin (a little more is better than a little less)

32 oz of chicken broth (or vegetable broth, either work fine)

1 teaspoon of fresh thyme

2 teaspoons salt

2 teaspoons sugar

1 teaspoon chili powder

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

2 bay leaves

1 1/2 cups of water

1/2 cup heavy cream

The finished product, with the severed heads as proof of my hard work

Directions: In a heavy pot or Dutch oven, melt the butter. Saute the onions in the butter until translucent (about 5 minutes). Add garlic, and stir until fragrant (about 30 seconds). Add all the remaining ingredients, except the heavy cream. Allow this to simmer for 15-20 minutes. Remove bay leaves, and blend the soup (using either an immersion blender or a regular blender, don’t forget to vent). Test for spice, and add the heavy cream. Remove from the heat and serve.

The pumpkin soup has a very big fan!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Wow sounds yummy!

Comment by La La

It is rather yummy, if I do say so myself. And soup is so perfect this time of year, don’t you agree? Thanks for commenting.

Comment by jaymers

Going to make this today with leftover pumpkin from last week =) Thanks for the recipe!

Comment by Jen

Excellent! I think it’s a winner, hope you like it too!

Comment by jaymers




Your thoughts are always welcome

