My mom adventures in Fort Collins


A Love Letter to the Lincoln Center

A little backstory: We moved to Fort Collins in 2010, and  the Lincoln Center was under renovation. Thus, it took me a while to realize what a phenomenal venue it is. Last March, I took the girls to a “Princess Ball” that was held in one of the ballrooms. We had the chance to explore–it was gorgeous, convenient, clean,  Ever after, the girls would refer to the Lincoln Center in any visual drive-by as “the place where we went to the Princess Party.” So, to summarize, I’m slow to the uptake, but it’s truly a gem of a venue for the Fort Collins community.

My little turkeys with Snow White back at the “Princess Ball” in March 2012

Flash forward to tonight: My little mommy blog had garnered a hit from a company that solicits bloggers and asks them to promote their event in return for comped tickets. I said yes, and I got to bring my kids and my hubby to the Fresh Beat Band Live. (Full disclosure: We don’t have cable, so we’d only seen the show a few times on our streaming Netflix.) Nonetheless, the girls were enthralled with the live show tonight. And when I say “enthralled,” I mean that they both were dancing, grooving, screaming (at the prompts, I mean they’re preschoolers), and all out having a fabulous time the entire time the Fresh Beat Band was on stage.

My eldest in her concert-going gear (she was inspired by Marina)

Marina from the Fresh Beat Band (from freshbeatband.wikia.com)

The Fresh Beat Band Live was a hit with my kids, and, in turn, a hit with me and my husband. The Band was indeed the actual band–Kiki, Marina, Twist and Shout. They had several back up dancers who were fantastic and fun. The songs were primarily Fresh Beat Band tunes (the ubiquitous “Great Day” was their encore), though they did an audience sing-along and later sang the Beatles “Twist and Shout.” The show started around 6:00 pm, and the Lincoln Center was rather full, though not “packed.” We were back at our car at 7:34 pm, with one intermission. The Band sang, they entertained, they engaged the audience, they danced, and they were completely age-appropriate without boring the adults. My eldest daughter uttered the word “amazing” at least a dozen times. Overall, it was a perfect first concert for our two girls, ages 5 and nearly 3. We skipped the concert t-shirts and the glow sticks, so it was even more fun for me since we didn’t feel compelled to buy a bunch of shwag.

The Lincoln Center was part of the charm of the evening, and I have to say that each and every usher and staff member that we encountered was sweet, kind, great with kids and completely helpful. I can’t wait to go back! Here is a list of the upcoming events that I think would be perfect for kids (and a link to the entire list of upcoming events):

The Children’s Theatre Presents Peter Pan on November 16, 17, and 18

The Foothills Pop Band on November 25

Mountain Dance Presents the Nutcracker with a Twist On November 30, December 1, and 2

Clara and the Nutcracker on December 14 and 15

LifePointe Church Presents a Festival of Lights on December 13, 14 and 15

Black Violin on January 26

Adam Trent Magic on February 16

There are so many more opportunities, but I’ll stop there. Each of the shows mentioned above is on the low end of the price scale, anywhere from $5 to $19 per ticket. Here’s to hoping that I can take my kids on many more of these adventures in the future. It’ll be “amazing!”

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

your children are beautiful

lets make a link
http://ichapajrisadpgoblog.wordpress.com

Comment by ichapajrisadwiputri

Why thanks! Link away!

Comment by jaymers

Glad it was such a fun time.

Comment by memyselfandkids

Ooh, ooh–you’ll get this: It was a GREAT DAY! Thanks for commenting!

Comment by jaymers

Did somebody say bananas?

Comment by memyselfandkids




Your thoughts are always welcome

