My mom adventures in Fort Collins


2013: A Resolutions Odyssey

Happy New Year!

This is 2013, which in my mind as a child would look just like the Jetsons or, alternatively, Marty McFly’s place in “Back to the Future Part II.” Since no one is riding hover boards and I don’t have a robot to clean my house (is the Roomba supposed to be as exciting as Rosie?), I will carry on much like I had in 2012. I do enjoy New Year’s for the opportunity to reflect on the past year, and make goals for the new year.

Since I’ve read that making goals public will help me keep my resolutions, I think I’ll do that. Now, it’s January 4th, and some of these are lofty and vague, but I consider New Year’s Resolutions the kind of goals that are allowed their own evolving timelines. Sure, start on New Year’s, but feel free to start anytime, right?

  1. Be more ambitious and intentional with my time. I have been reading a book called No Regrets Parenting by Dr. Harley Rotbart. The author makes the point that you have about 940 Saturdays between the time your child is born and the time you send that kiddo off to college. If your child is 5-years-old about 260 of those Saturdays are gone. Makes you think a bit, doesn’t it? This is not to say that every day needs to be a trip to Disneyland, but it is to say that every day that emerges is a new opportunity to spend time together, to make memories, establish traditions and be more purposeful in my time as a parent and spouse.
  2. Organize. As I age, I have struggled with an issue that I never imagined that I would. True confession: I was always a bit “messy” and clutter never seemed to bother me.The older that I get, the more I am bothered by my chaotic environment. I occasionally purge the closet, and I regularly resolve to get rid of “stuff” but this is the year that I organize my life in order to impact my overall well-being. Looking around my house, I feel chaotic, stressed and disorganized. It affects my mood significantly at times, making me feel overwhelmed. I think to myself, “There is so much to do! Where do I begin?” In order to feel less stressed by the constant barrage of papers, hair ties, books, socks, toys, dog hairs, etc. that seem to blanket my canvas, I want to really research ways to organize and declutter my life.
  3. Enjoy my life. This Christmas I asked my mom for socks. And she got me about a dozen pair of the perfect little Gold Toe socks that work well with my uniform: jeans, Danskos and a long-sleeve shirt. When I opened up all the packages of socks, I vowed to throw away all my socks that had holes in them and only keep my “good socks.” What I realized in emptying out my sock drawer was that I did have a few socks to toss, but I also had a sock drawer full of perfectly fine socks. I thought I needed socks, but it turns out that I didn’t. THIS is the story of my life. I thought I needed x, but I didn’t really. This year I am going to make a concerted effort to enjoy the life that I already have instead of yearning for new things, new commitments, new friends, new experiences.
  4. Dream. When you are a kid, it seems so easy to dream big. I dreamt of becoming an astronaut, attending Harvard Law School (a la the classic 80’s C. Thomas Howell movie “Soul Man”), meeting Kirk Cameron and/or Tiffany, etc. As an adult, I do this thing where I temper my fear of failure by setting goals that barely get me out of my regular routine. Set small goals, very little chance of disappointment, right? Well, I have no problem at all with small goals! Small goals are still goals, and baby-steps can lead to big things; however, I want to rekindle this love of the ‘grand plan’ that I once had. I want to think career, travel, relationships, self-improvement, health, writing, hobbies, parenting, homemaking–EVERYTHING! Making myself dream and fantasize about my best life possible will hopefully lead to higher expectations of myself, not bigger dismay when everything isn’t “perfect” in 6-weeks time. I don’t need to have a timeline or itemized receipt for my dreams. This is not the same as checking items off my “Bucket List” (am I the only one who hates this term?)–this is about letting my inner dreamer out, letting her grow and think again because she’s been stifled for so very long.
  5. Be lovely. For me, this about being outwardly lovely and inwardly lovely. Be gentle to myself and my family. Be forgiving. Be showered. (This is a big one for me. HA.) Be good to my body. Be generous. Surprise others with my kindness. Go out of my way for others. Bite my tongue. Smile more. Linger with my kids when they want to snuggle with me. Be hospitable to others. Entertain my own family–tablecloths & cloth napkins for no reason, balloons at the grocery store, sparkling cider just because, starfruit taste-testing at home even if the fruit is $3.00. And paint over that dang orange wall that drives me nutty.

Certainly, if this autumn of illness and unexpected derailment has taught me anything, life will not slow down so that I can accomplish anything. Amidst my resolutions lurk the normal obligations of tidying up the house, cooking dinner, maintaining a household, and keeping up with our regular schedule of school and various appointments. Like a game of double dutch, I just have to anticipate and jump in. I can’t imagine that anyone ever jumped into the ropes and “got it” right off the bat, so I’ll just keep trying. Making time to blog is also on my radar, but maybe a renewed vision is in order: more recipes, more crafts, better photos, more Fort Collins fun. I also want to be a better blog reader.

After writing all of this, I feel optimistic. What about you? What are your resolutions? Does your resolution odyssey look more like this?

Or this?

From cars.findthebest.com

From cars.findthebest.com

Pragmatic or imaginative, my best to you!

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Love your goals. I’m with you on the de-cluttering one. There is power in writing them down!

Comment by RFL

I have a more “itemized” list that I showed my husband. He looked at me with bewilderment, “You don’t honestly think you can get all of this done today, right?” I looked at him and said, “I would be happy if I finished this stuff in my lifetime!” HA!

Comment by jaymers

Good on you, Jayme! really like your ‘dream’ goal … &, of course, i TOTALLY understand the ‘be showered’ one (uh, it happens here a bit too often : )

grace, peace & New Years Showers – Virginia

Comment by Virginia

Oh, Virginia! Where do you come up with this stuff? Hilarious! Grace, peace and New Years Showers to you, too! Looking forward to reading your latest stuff, too, my dear. Best to you and the saints.

Comment by jaymers

It sounds like a very practical and reasonable list.
Every day I pray that I should focus on the task at hand to get the most out of it. So, I can very much appreciate your first list as it seems like it would fit right in.
By the way, the visuals are an amusing way to put it.

Comment by memyselfandkids

Thank you, I pride myself on practical and reasonable resolutions. HA! The true test will be a follow-up!

Comment by jaymers

Ain’t that the truth!

Comment by memyselfandkids

Love your goals! I need to make one not to procrastinate reading my favorite blogs – like yours! 🙂

Comment by jeandayfriday

You are so sweet! I hear ya! I’ve been meaning to play catch up on several blogs, but it just hasn’t happened yet. I saw you just posted something so I’ll have to check that out!

Comment by jaymers




Your thoughts are always welcome

