My mom adventures in Fort Collins


Kitchen success: Eggplant patties
My plate full of patties, with another eager eater across the table from me

My plate full of patties, with another eager eater across the table from me

My mom frequently sends me recipes. If I cooked a different meal every night of the year, I might not get around to trying everything she’s sent me. These recipes are mostly in the form of “clippings,” so I’m sorry I can’t source this one any better than a photocopied page that says Sandy’s Eggplant Patties. My guess is that it’s from a Penzey’s spice catalog, because the recipe specifically mentions Penzey’s spices… but of this, I can’t be sure. However, you can be sure that these are tasty and a great alternative to chicken patties for the little ones. My kids will actually eat these–TRUE STORY!

Tools: Non-stick skillet (the bigger the better), 3-qt pot for boiling, food processor, mixing bowl, potato masher

Ingredients: 1 eggplant (peeled and cubed), 2 cups panko breadcrumbs (separated), 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese, 1 egg (lightly beaten), 1 garlic clove (minced), 1/2 tsp. salt, 1/4 tsp. pepper, vegetable oil for shallow frying (separated, about 1/4 cup)

To Prepare: Bring water to boil in the 3 qt. pot. Add eggplant and cook until tender (about 5 minutes). Remove from the water and let rest on a paper towel-lined plate. Of the total amount of cooked eggplant, reserve about 1/3. With the remaining 2/3 of eggplant, pulse in the food processor.

Pulse 2/3 of the eggplant in the food processor

Pulse 2/3 of the eggplant in the food processor

Place all of the eggplant together in a large mixing bowl, and add 1 cup of the breadcrumbs, the cheese, egg, garlic, salt, and pepper. Mash together with the potato masher, then form into patties.

IMG_0362

The mashed together eggplant/breadcrumb/cheese mixture

Put remaining 1 cup of breadcrumbs on a plate. Coat each patty with breadcrumbs on both sides.

Plate o' breadcrumbs and the eggplant mixture

Plate o’ breadcrumbs and the eggplant mixture

In a skillet, heat some vegetable oil. Fry the patties in batches. Carefully flip each patty after about 2-3 minutes. Then cook the other side until golden, about 2-3 minutes.

Behold: the patties!

Behold: the patties!

Prep time: 20 minutes

Skillet time: about 6 minutes per batch

Makes about 10 patties, depending on size

Serve with marinara sauce, alongside garlic cheese bread or a side salad.

I served mine with a thicker homemade tomato chutney, and I had goat cheese & carmelized onion toast to go with it--YUM!

I served mine with a thick homemade tomato chutney, and a side of goat cheese & carmelized onion toast

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Jayme – these look absolutely yummy! I make fried eggplant often (esp in the summer & for eggplant Parmesan – Va’s specialty : ) but never thought to make patties. Will definitely try these! : ) grace, peace & Eggplant Burgers – VA

Comment by Virginia

Ooh, that would be really good! Like an eggplant parm sandwich. I’m going to try that! And I love the “traditional” eggplant parm, too. Pretty much anything with a bunch of cheese is absolutely my thing! HA! Thanks for commenting!

Comment by jaymers

That looks delicious! I am expecting (requiring) and invite next time 🙂

Comment by lacey

You got it! Or you could try it out, and invite us over!

Comment by jaymers

I am an eggplant guy. It sounds good.
By the way, my blog moved. Here is the new address:memyselfandkids.com

Comment by memyselfandkids

Love the new blog! Thanks for tipping me off! Look at you getting all big and fancy, congrats!

Comment by jaymers

An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a coworker who
had been doing a little homework on this. And he in fact ordered me dinner simply because
I discovered it for him… lol. So allow me to reword this….
Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanx for spending time to discuss this issue here on your website.

Comment by Clifford

Glad to be of service! Thanks for stopping by!

Comment by jaymers




Your thoughts are always welcome

