My mom adventures in Fort Collins


I’m not really a Wallflower, but I’ll try

Have you read The Perks of Being a Wallflower? I am not quite sure why, but I only recently read this book. Well, I actually devoured this book. In any case, I have been inspired. Also, I haven’t written a post in a long time. So, let’s see if I can merge these two things…

March 13, 2013

Dear friend,

I have had every intention of writing to you, but this is my first attempt. Time has been scarce, it seems. But when I think about it, time has also been plentiful. How is that? That time can seem infinite and also so limited?

Family is weird and lovely. But mostly lovely. I felt drawn to go visit my father for his birthday this year. He happens to have been born on Valentine’s Day, which is kind of weird but he can’t help it. The kids and I took a trip to Wisconsin for five days, and Cory stayed home because he doesn’t have the same kind of flexibility that I do as a stay-at-home-mom. I did enjoy the face time, and the kids enjoyed the toys my parents bought them.

My dad and me

My dad and me (self-held camera shot)

On the day that we left Wisconsin, my dad traveled about 60 miles to spend time at a hospital where he saw a ton of new doctors and had a lot of new tests. I kept waiting for him to call me, but mostly I called my mom to find out how he was doing. He spent 11 days in the hospital and came home with new medicine and new information. The new doctor suggested that he could have a heart pump, or an LVAD as the heart pump is commonly known. I read a bit about the LVAD, but mostly I can’t stop thinking about the plotline on “Grey’s Anatomy” where Dr. Izzie Stevens falls in love with her patient Denny Duquette and she cuts his LVAD wire so that he can be moved to the top of the heart recipient list.

Oh, Denny and Izzie... why'd it have to go so WRONG??? From greysanatomy.wikia.com

Oh, Denny and Izzie… why’d it have to go so WRONG??? From greysanatomy.wikia.com

My older daughter has been really anxious about school. Many mornings have been difficult these past few weeks.

“I don’t want to go to school today.”

“It’s hard to go to school when you don’t want to go but sometimes we all have to do things that we don’t want to do.”

“I won’t go to school. If you make me go to school, I’m going to steal all the jewelry out of your jewelry box.”

“That doesn’t make me want to keep you home from school.”

Acting not at all anxious with Papa

Acting not at all anxious with Papa

My younger daughter does not like to wear pants. She likes to wear skirts. The skirts have to twirl, though. She will wear the skirt all day and then put it on over her pajamas. She sleeps in a twirly skirt over her pajamas, and it’s probably not comfortable but she does not seem to mind. Other people think she looks nice, though, and they will comment. When they say, “Oh, how sweet!” I really just want to cringe and say, “She actually slept in that stupid skirt last night.”

But I don’t.

One of the "twirly" skirts

One of the “twirly” skirts

I am very annoyed with daylight savings time. I read a poster in a Jimmy John’s not too long ago. The sign was a list of some wisdom of Dave Barry. I really like Dave Barry. It said things like, “There comes a time in life when you stop making a big deal about your birthday. That time is age eleven.” But one thing I remember is that it also says, “No one can ever give you a good explanation for why we observe Daylight Savings time.”

I agree with Dave Barry on that.

I have been leaving messages for a woman who works at our credit union. She is never there, but I keep hoping that she will return my message. I had my debit card stolen out of our truck two weeks ago. The first person I spoke with at the credit union led me to believe that this was no big deal. I’m pretty sure that $2100 should be reinstated on our account. I  didn’t spend $2100 at Target, but someone did. My husband filled out the card dispute form and he even turned it into a PDF, which I found pretty impressive. Why does the credit union need to take two weeks to reinstate the money?

Good thing I don’t actually need money to survive.

That was supposed to be a joke. But maybe no one even laughed. I don’t know why I’m saying this. I really just wish that I could write a post in order to move my blogging process along. I really hope that this post did accomplish that.

Love always,

Jayme

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Jayme – so SORRY about your debit card – yikes!! …&hope (& pray) that your papa will be ok with the new heart gadget (love the pic of you two BTW : )

A favorite quote from a fav British preacher: “God does not give us overcoming life, but life as we overcome.” – Oswald Chambers

grace, peace & overcoming life – Virginia : )

Comment by Virginia

Thanks, Virginia! I had a “busy” few weeks around here, but mostly I just feel like my head and heart are somewhere else (and likely not in the same place, either). I know you know plenty about aging parents, so I am glad to know there is a community out there. Grace, peace, and overcoming life. I like that.

Comment by jaymers

I love Perks. I have taught it the last 2 years to my 10th grade class. There is so much to the book.
I hope you’re dad is on the mend and sorry it has been a rough go w/your daughter and school. Unfortunately, I can understand very well as my older son hs had a poor school year – worsened recently. Bring me June!!

Comment by memyselfandkids.com

Thanks for your comment. I really loved the book, and I’m curious to learn how your students like it. Even as a 35 year old (who ironically had my first year of high school from 1991-92), I found it challenging at times. Lots of tough stuff and intense themes in that novel. (And I was also obsessed with that Smiths song Asleep. I hope you played it for your students.) p.s. I totally haven’t been doing a good job checking up on your blog, but it looks GREAT!

Comment by jaymers

Students definitely liked it. I teach in a place where many kids are homophobic. However, most accept that part even if they are not totally comfortable with it. I tell that it is okay and I am not totally comfortable with it either.
Anyway, they appreciate the friendships and the ups and downs Charlie goes through.
As someone looking back, of course I see it differently but there is common ground.
They are not into the music noted there. My crew is more rap, r&B, etc.
P.S. Thanks for checking out the site. I hope to hear from your there soon.

Comment by memyselfandkids.com

Jayme – I got my debit card stolen last year and it was an awful ordeal. I hope the bank clears it up for you very soon!
My oldest son didn’t want to go to school last year at this time. It was rough, but I kept telling him summer was just around the corner. He has had a better year this year. I am ready for this summer to get here!
Thinking of you and your dad…
BTW: The twirling skirts are precious!

Comment by jeandayfriday

Thanks for your comment (and empathy), jeanday! I’m sorry to hear you’ve been down this road yourself. I think the sad thing about the whole debit card deal is that almost everyone I’ve told has their very own story about theft and loss. Fortunately, it could have been much worse. The bandit literally only took three cards and left the remaining contents of my wallet intact… I guess he/she knows what a PITA it is to go to the DMV?

Comment by jaymers

I’m intrigued now to read the book-I’m going to add it to my list. And I agree with you and Dave Barry. Clearly whoever invented Daylight Savings time did not have a baby that they were “trying” to keep to a routine. Oh, and I’ve been there with the whole credit card being stolen (multiple times actually). It will work out but yes, it is a PITA for sure.

Comment by bunchesofjoy

Hey Kirin,
I’ve been playing away from the computer a lot lately and I must have missed this comment. Thanks for checking me out, and definitely add the book to your list. My sis-in-law and I recently watched the movie, and it was pretty good as well, but as the story goes… the book was better! Take care!

Comment by jaymers




Your thoughts are always welcome

