My mom adventures in Fort Collins


21-Day Gratitude Challenge: Day 4

When I first typed the title of this post, it came out like this:

The 21-Day Gratitude Clannenge

I’m not really sure what “Clannenge” means, or if it’s even a word, but it’s very fitting that the word “clan” fits in to my post on gratitude. ‘Cause I sure am thankful for that big group of turkeys.

It’s honest and real to acknowledge your blessings, and it’s fair to say that making your blessings known gives them power over your struggles and hardships. This is not to fly in the face of the Kelly Clarkson et al adage, “What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger, ” but it is to say that I’d rather spend my energy exploring that which brings me a sense of gratitude and peace than that which brings me a sense of loneliness, pain or sorrow.

The prompt for yesterday also talked about the things we take for granted. I am grateful for a million things that I take for granted, like clean water, free public education, the sunshine, David Sedaris and down throws. Most of all, of any of these things, I give thanks for the time I have and the acceptance I have. My time is not spent juggling work and parenting, and even though this work of being a stay-at-home-mom is hard, I am so grateful that my family and I can use my time this way. I am grateful for the acceptance that I feel in my life. Mainly, this takes the form of my husband nodding his head and listening to me when something random stirs up some unresolved issue for me. I realize that so many people do not have one person in their life who loves them exactly and completely as they are, and I’m very grateful there are people who love me in spite of, maybe because of, my blunt truth-telling and sassy mouth.

When you have acceptance and time in your life, it’s easy to feel great about things. I want others to feel that way, too. Accept people more is a bit easier than give others more time. I think I’m going to mull that one over for a while, and maybe come up with a few strategies that will give other people more time. In the meantime, I’ll work more on the accepting others piece.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Your thoughts are always welcome

