My mom adventures in Fort Collins


21-Day Gratitude Challenge: Day 6

Today’s prompt asks me to reflect on the impact of art (music, dance, theatre, poetry, etc.) in my life, and the artist that inspires and gives me much to enjoy. “What do you appreciate most about their work?”

I like this prompt because this is definitely not something that I regularly stop and pay attention to. I’m not exactly a connoisseur of fine wines or lyrical dance, but I do enjoy others’ creative works.

I love music, and I think it’s wildly fun to enjoy music in the car with my kids. Scout’s favorite artist is Adele, and Ruby lives for anything pop-y and she prefers female singers. As for both of them, they know that Mom loves the song “Blackbird,” and they let me sing along without any obvious embarrassment when something catchy comes on the radio. Thank you, Anna Kendrick, here is one that we all enjoy singing along to.

Lately, I have been enjoying the creativity of a particular writer and blogger–Glennon Doyle Melton, the creator of the Momastery website. The self-revealing nature in which she writes has the beauty of being relatable without being voyeuristic. Some of her posts are hilarious, but others hit right to the heart. And when she gets serious, it’s spot on. I feel like the gift of her words is that when she writes, I can identify with it, and thus I feel less alone in the world.  Here is her amazing TED Talk, if you have an extra 17 minutes.

I could probably identify other lovely artists or particular works of art that deeply moved me. However, at this point in my life, the art that hangs in my house are family photos and one-of-a-kind original works made with finger-paint. The music that breaks my heart into a million pieces is the sound of my girls trying to sing along with their dad when he plays “The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down” on his guitar. And who can top the interpretive dance that looks a lot like spinning around in circles, and is better when performed while wearing dress-up dresses and polyester Russian-granny scarves? This type of art inspires me, and I think that (the being inspired part) is all that matters.

I do sincerely appreciate the art and artists in my life.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I do love driving in the car with the kids singing the latest fun song on the radio! It makes me smile! 🙂

Comment by jeandayfriday

Agreed. It’s bad though, I am often trying to steal glances of them bopping along to the music, but I should be focused on the road! HA!

Comment by jaymers




Your thoughts are always welcome

