My mom adventures in Fort Collins


21-Day Gratitude Challenge: Day 7

Woohoo! Day 7! One week into this Gratitude Challenge and it feels good. I have to say, I’m grateful for the Gratitude Challenge because, if nothing else, it’s reconnected me with my long-lost practice of reflecting on my life. Sometimes a momma just doesn’t take the time to slow down, and that’s no good.

The Jesuits have a prayer that is essentially a daily examination of the day, the Daily Examen, I never did it daily, but there was a time in my life (probably about 12 years ago) when praying the examen was something that I did try to do occasionally. Here is the essence:

1. Become aware of God’s presence.

2. Review the day with gratitude.

3. Pay attention to your emotions.

4. Choose one feature of the day and pray from it.

5. Look toward tomorrow.

The prompt for the day’s Gratitude Challenge says, “Today, take time to reflect on how your life experiences, influences and interactions have transformed you for the better.” I frequently pause and think about the way that my life’s journey has brought me to where I am today. I am a big believer in that old phrase, “The child is father of the man.”

I think it’s wise to think long-term. It’s been my experience that much of what happens today may not make sense until the next chapter of our lives are revealed.

I am very grateful of my circuitous path to my current vocation as stay-at-home-mom. This is not something that I ever thought that I’d do, but it still feels very comfortable for the time being. I hope that someday I will hear my heart calling me in a different direction, because I miss the professional challenges and collegial interaction that can inspire me in ways that the daily routine of this life does not, but for now it’s where I’m supposed to be. Today has been a hard day mom-wise, and I’m not sure my focus is where it should be. So, I will also say a quick bit of thanks for the gin and tonic that I’d like to drink later tonight when my house is less of a disaster area and my shoulders are not quite as uncomfortable from helping my daughter with a jewelry-making project. Alleluia for thinking long term, for seeing that this journey will have peaks and valleys but knowing that it is mostly a fantastic journey.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You deserve a little gin and tonic! Being a mom is hard work, and staying at home is really hard because you are never off the clock. But your kids are so lucky to have you there every morning. I love summer days when I am off school because I can actually be a stay-at-home mom for a little while. But sometimes I need a glass of wine or two! 😉

Comment by jeandayfriday

Why thank you, I don’t mind if I do. Some days are easier than others, right? I do envy the teacher’s schedule, but I’m sure it has its own challenges. A glass of wine also sounds lovely, always wise to diversify! HA!

Comment by jaymers




Your thoughts are always welcome

